The Whole of Church History in Four Words (From Twenty-One Centuries.com)

I just started following a new blog, Twenty-One Centuries, by Chris Ross. One of the few specific Church History blogs I have found.

I thought I’d share an interesting post from his blog, Learn the History of the Church in Four Words. I know we are supposed to be wary of pressing history into convenient schemes, but I like what he suggests here. Simplistic? Absolutely. But helpful? Yes.

Chris says,
In teaching church history I have sometimes used the following four-word sequence to summarize the last 2,000 years:

DEFENSE – DEVELOPMENT – DECADENCE – DIVERSITY

Each word describes one of four 500-year divisions.

See his full post for what falls under each heading:
http://twenty-onecenturies.com/2014/08/15/learn-the-history-of-the-church-in-4-words/

Leave a Reply

